Skip to main content

Murray Journal

Murray mayor’s race contains familiar faces

Oct 03, 2017 05:33PM ● By Shaun Delliskave

Residents in Murray 2nd District (green-shaded) will choose between Dale Cox and Darrell Pehrson. (Shaun Delliskave/City Journals)

Wide-ranging interest in Murray’s mayoral race brought over one-third of the city’s residents to the polls in last month’s primary election. 

According to the Salt Lake County Clerk’s Office, Murray saw a 13.6 percent voting increase—up to 36.6 percent in 2017 compared with 22.9 percent in 2013. In addition to active local races, the county clerk’s office attributes the improved voting numbers due to the convenience of mail-in balloting.

Primary election results in Murray gave voters a narrower playing field to focus on as November’s elections approach. In the four-way mayoral race, the top two vote-getters qualify for the November showdown. Former Mayor Dan Snarr received 40.98 percent or 3,668 total votes. Current Murray City Councilman Blair Camp took second with 33.51 percent or 2,999 votes.

Not advancing to the general election are Salt Lake County Council Member-at-Large Richard Snelgrove with 20.1 percent or 1,799 votes, and political newcomer Verl Greenhalgh with 5.41 percent or 484 votes.

Camp and Snarr will vie for the seat vacated by Mayor Richard Eyre, who did not file for re-election and passed away several weeks after the primary election, just short of completing his term.

Greenhalgh posted to his campaign Facebook page, “To all my friends and neighbors who voted for me, you have honored me beyond my ability to express. For those friends and neighbors that did not vote for me, please don’t avoid me or be shy around me. Your friendship means so much more than any elected position. I respect you for your choice.”

Going into Murray’s election, two city council seats will be on the ballot. Appointed Acting Mayor Diane Turner will run unopposed for re-election in the 4th District. Voters residing in the southwest-central 2nd District, will be selecting a new city council member to replace Blair Camp who is running for mayor. 

As only two candidates, Dale Cox and Darrell Pehrson, filed to run in the 2nd District, they advanced automatically to the general election.

Key dates for the upcoming general election include October 10 as the last day to register to vote with a paper form, but voters can still register online or at the Salt Lake County Clerk’s office by October 31. Mail-in ballots will be sent to Salt Lake County voters on October 17. November 2 is the last day to request a mail-in ballot (paper or online). 

Murray residents will be able to vote early in-person at Murray City Hall October 25–27 and November 1–3 from 3 to 7 p.m. Polls will open on Election Day at 7 a.m. and close at 8 p.m. Murray is currently scheduled to have two Election Day polling places, Murray City Hall and Wheeler Historic Farm, but voters should consult the Salt Lake County Clerk’s office if locations change.

Murray Chamber of Commerce will host a “Meet the Candidates Night” October 11 at 6:00 p.m. in the Murray High School Little Theater.